© 2023 Kansas Public Radio

91.5 FM | KANU | Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM | K241AR | Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM | KANH | Emporia
99.5 FM | K258BT | Manhattan
97.9 FM | K250AY | Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM | KANV | Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM | K210CR | Atchison
90.3 FM | KANQ | Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

FCC On-line Public Inspection Files Sites:

Questions about KPR's Public Inspection Files?
Contact General Manager Feloniz Lovato-Winston at fwinston@ku.edu
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ad Astra per Mathematica (To the Stars Through Math?) - November 1, 2019

Q: Today's question involves a simple matter of math and geography. If you know your Kansas counties and you can add... you can win! (Though, having a map will be helpful.) Here we go. Kansas has 105 counties. How many of them share a border with another state or river?

A: 40

Kansas has 105 counties. Forty of them share a border with another state or a river. That's right - nearly half of them! These 40 counties either border Oklahoma to the South, Colorado to the west, Nebraska to the north or Missouri to the east, though several of the counties in northeast Kansas technically share more of a border with the Missouri River than with the actual state of Missouri. Today's question was way too easy, at least for those who have a Kansas map handy (and we do, at all times).

Check out KPR's online archive of Kansas Trivia! And tune in for our Kansas Trivia contest on the radio, most Fridays at 9 a.m., for your chance to win fabulous prizes and recognition from your peers! But mostly for the fabulous prizes.