LISTEN LIVE KPR - On Air: Listen Live to classical, jazz and NPR news Schedule LATEST
KPR 2 - On Air: Listen live to KPR's all talk-radio service, KPR2 Recordings

Share this page              

Name That Town or..."O, What Fun!" - April 25, 2014

Q: The names for a handful of Kansas towns are spelled with at least three of the letter "O." For example, Oskaloosa is spelled with three Os. So is Solomon and don't overlook Overbrook. But there's only ONE Kansas town with four Os in its name. Can you name it?

CottonwoodDown Flickr Lauren-WellicomeSituated in the heart of the Flint Hills, Cottonwood Falls serves as the County Seat of Chase County. The Chase County Courthouse forms the center of the town, at the end of Broadway, the town's main street. (Flickr Photo by Lauren Wellicome)


A: Cottonwood Falls


CottonwoodCourt Flickr_Lauren-WellicomeCompleted in 1873, the Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls is the oldest county courthouse still in use in Kansas and the second oldest in continuous use west of the Mississippi River. (Flickr Photo by Lauren Wellicome)

Best we can tell, there are nine Kansas towns with at least three Os in the spelling of their names. Take Toronto, for example. And how 'bout Holyrood? What about Woodston, Mission Woods and Formoso? And, of course, the three towns mentioned above - Oskaloosa, Solomon and Overbrook. But when it comes to Kansas, only one town takes the cake for having the most "Os" in its name: Cottonwood Falls, which has four Os.

Tower Frequencies

91.5 FM KANU Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM K241AR Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM KANH Emporia
99.5 FM K258BT Manhattan
97.9 FM K250AY Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM  KANV Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM K210CR Atchison
90.3 FM KANQ Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

Contact Us

Kansas Public Radio
1120 West 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Download Map
785-864-4530 (Main Line)
888-577-5268 (Toll Free)