LISTEN LIVE KPR - On Air: Listen Live to classical, jazz and NPR news Schedule LATEST
KPR 2 - On Air: Listen live to KPR's all talk-radio service, KPR2 Recordings

Share this page              

Republicans in Revolt: Former KS Lawmakers & Members of Congress Criticize Gov's Proposals

KS statehouse 2 resizeFlickr photo by Jimmy Emerson

A new group of nearly 50 Republican former politicians is criticizing tax and education proposals offered by Governor Sam Brownback and some legislators. The group is made up of a former U.S. senator and representative, former state legislators and a former lieutenant governor. They’re all Kansas Republicans. They say lawmakers should restore some education funding and focus less on cutting income taxes. Republican former state legislator, Rochelle Chronister, says schools are hurting after cuts made in recent years. She says she understands that legislators need to make cuts when state revenues fall.

Governor Brownback and some legislators have advocated for limiting growth in state spending and cutting tax rates. They say reducing tax rates can help spur economic growth in Kansas.


A group of 46 former Kansas Republican lawmakers from across the state have joined forces to form a group called "Traditional Republicans for Common Sense."  The group says it will "advocate for common sense policy positions – like job creation, funding schools and providing for common sense tax policy."

The founding members of Traditional Republicans for Common Sense include:

U.S. Sen. Sheila Frahm, Colby
U.S. Rep. Jan Meyers, Overland Park
Lt. Gov. Gary Sherrer, Overland Park
Sen. Barbara Allen, Prairie Village
Sen. Dick Bond, Overland Park
Sen. David Corbin, Towanda
Sen. Jane Eldredge, Lawrence
Sen. Tim Emert, Independence
Sen. Fred Kerr, Pratt
Sen. Audrey Langworthy, Prairie Village
Sen. Lana Oleen, Manhattan
Sen. Alicia Salisbury, Topeka
Sen. Carolyn Tillotson, Leavenworth
Sen. Wint Winter, Jr., Ottawa
Rep. Denise Apt, Iola
Rep. Jayne Aylward, Salina
Rep. Ginger Barr, Auburn
Rep. Jim Braden, Clay Center
Rep. Nancy Brown, Stanley
Rep Rochelle Chronister, Neodesha
Rep. Steve Cloud, Lenexa
Rep. Ray Cox, Bonner Springs
Rep. Sandy Duncan, Wichita
Rep. Cindy Empson, Independence
Rep. Ron Fox, Prairie Village
Rep. Bob Frey, Kansas City
Rep. Fred Gatlin, Atwood
Rep. John Golden, Goodland
Rep. Rex Hoy, Fairway
Rep. David Huff, Lenexa
Rep Dan Johnson, Hays
Rep. Phil (Big Phil) Kline, Overland Park
Rep. Wendell Lady, Overland Park
Rep. Fred Lorentz, Fredonia
Rep. Jim Lowther, Emporia
Rep. Bill Light, Rolla
Rep. R. D. Miller, Russell
Rep. R. H Miller, Wellington
Rep. Cindy Neighbor, Shawnee
Rep. Gerry Ray, Overland Park
Rep. Susan Roenbaugh, Lewis
Rep. Ed Rolfs, Junction City
Rep. Ellen Samuelson, Newton
Rep. Lloyd Stone, Emporia
Rep Jim Yonally, Overland Park
Rep. Lisa Benlon, Overland Park





Tower Frequencies

91.5 FM KANU Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM K241AR Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM KANH Emporia
99.5 FM K258BT Manhattan
97.9 FM K250AY Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM  KANV Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM K210CR Atchison
90.3 FM KANQ Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

Contact Us

Kansas Public Radio
1120 West 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Download Map
785-864-4530 (Main Line)
888-577-5268 (Toll Free)