LISTEN LIVE KPR - On Air: Listen Live to classical, jazz and NPR news Schedule LATEST
KPR 2 - On Air: Listen live to KPR's all talk-radio service, KPR2 Recordings

Share this page              

Motorsports! - December 21, 2012

Q: Wichita native Rick Mears won it four times, Coffeyville native Johnny Rutherford won it three times and Beloit-born Rodger Ward won it twice. What did they win?

IndyMears1991 Flickr_ATOMIC-Hot-Links
Rick Mears wins the 1991 Indy 500. (Flickr Photo Courtesy of ATOMIC Hot Links)

A: the Indianapolis 500 (the Greatest Spectacle in Racing!)

IndyTrophy Flickr_momentcaptured1

Johnny-Rutherford Flickr_John-Vincent

Mears is one of only three drivers to win Indy 500 four times. He brought his car to Victory Lane in 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991. Rutherford won in 1974, 1976 and 1980. Ward took the checkered flag in 1959 and 1962. Together, these Kansas-born drivers have won 9 of the 96 races held at The Brickyard. That’s 9.4 percent of the race victories from a state with less than 1 percent of the country’s population.

Tower Frequencies

91.5 FM KANU Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM K241AR Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM KANH Emporia
99.5 FM K258BT Manhattan
97.9 FM K250AY Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM  KANV Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM K210CR Atchison
90.3 FM KANQ Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

Contact Us

Kansas Public Radio
1120 West 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Download Map
785-864-4530 (Main Line)
888-577-5268 (Toll Free)