LISTEN LIVE KPR - On Air: Listen Live to classical, jazz and NPR news Schedule LATEST
KPR 2 - On Air: Listen live to KPR's all talk-radio service, KPR2 Recordings

Share this page              

Kansas Counties - March 18, 2016

Q: More Kansas county names begin with this letter than any other. Indeed, the names of 12 Kansas Counties begin with this same letter. Which letter is it?

A: the letter "S"
More Kansas county names begin with the letter "S" than any other letter. The names of 12 Kansas counties begin with the letter "S." They are: Saline, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens and Sumner counties.  
The letter "C" is a close second, though. There are 11 Kansas county names that begin with the letter "C." They are: Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley and Crawford counties.  
Of course, not all letters of the alphabet are used when it comes to the beginning letter of Kansas county names. However, of the letters that are used, “T” is the least popular. Only two Kansas county names begin with that letter: Thomas and Trego.  
Having said that, we still hope this question suits you to a “T.”

Tower Frequencies

91.5 FM KANU Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM K241AR Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM KANH Emporia
99.5 FM K258BT Manhattan
97.9 FM K250AY Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM  KANV Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM K210CR Atchison
90.3 FM KANQ Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

Contact Us

Kansas Public Radio
1120 West 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Download Map
785-864-4530 (Main Line)
888-577-5268 (Toll Free)