LISTEN LIVE KPR - On Air: Listen Live to classical, jazz and NPR news Schedule LATEST
KPR 2 - On Air: Listen live to KPR's all talk-radio service, KPR2 Recordings

Share this page              

Name Those County Seats! - June 29, 2012

Q: Only one county seat in Kansas begins with the letter “R.” The same is true for the letters “U” and “Y.” What are the names of the county seats that begin with the letters “R, U and Y”?

Ulysses Flickr_-J.StephenConn
Ulysses is the county seat of Grant County, Kan. (Flickr Photo by J. Stephen Conn


A: Russell, Ulysses and Yates Center

Russell-County Flickr_Jimmy-EmersonKansas has 105 counties and therefore, 105 county seats. When it comes to the names of county seats in Kansas, 11 of them begin with the letter “S.” It’s the most common first letter used. Only one county seat’s name begins with the letter “R” – Russell in Russell County. The same is true for the letters “U” and “Y.” Ulysses is the county seat of Grant County and Yates Center is the county seat of Woodson County. But who cares about all this county seat business, anyway? Apparently, YOU do… because you’ve read this far.


Woodson-County Flickr_-J.StephenConnGrant-County Flickr_-J.StephenConnThanks for taking an interest in Kansas! And remember: We’re not square, we’re rectangular!

Map of_Kansas_copy

Tower Frequencies

91.5 FM KANU Lawrence, Topeka, Kansas City
96.1 FM K241AR Lawrence (KPR2)
89.7 FM KANH Emporia
99.5 FM K258BT Manhattan
97.9 FM K250AY Manhattan (KPR2)
91.3 FM  KANV Junction City, Olsburg
89.9 FM K210CR Atchison
90.3 FM KANQ Chanute

See the Coverage Map for more details

Contact Us

Kansas Public Radio
1120 West 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Download Map
785-864-4530 (Main Line)
888-577-5268 (Toll Free)